Scots Official Sponsor

Girls Junior Varsity Softball, Girls Varsity Softball · Historic Season Wraps for Lady Scots Softball

The 2016 Highland Park High School varsity softball team concluded their season over the past few weeks.  After falling short 1-4 to Rockwall High School in a one-game playoff in the area round of post-season play, the Lady Scots recognized their many achievements with their annual program banquet, and then wrapped their season by further recognizing individual district awards and by naming their 2017 season captains at the squad’s final gathering last weekend.

By all measures, 2016 was one to remember for this Lady Scot team. With a 19-9 overall record and a 13-1 district record, both program bests, this team won a District Title in softball for the first time in HPHS history, and these young ladies did so in 6A.

What’s more, at one time this season, the varsity team went on an 11 game winning streak and won 15 of 16 games before succumbing to Rockwall in the area playoffs.  Beyond winning the school’s first softball district championship, the last two seasons saw the Lady Scots win consecutive bi-district championships.

At this year’s team banquet, Head Varsity Softball Coach Meredith Townsend recognized several players.  Impressively, six Lady Scots qualified for all-academic honors within District 10-6A, maintaining a 4.0 grade point average throughout the district season;  Katie Bell, Chandler Bjork, Sunny Bowden, Rennie Orr,  Grayson Rutherford and Emily Singh.

On the field, sophomore Makayla Morgan was named the Junior Varsity team’s MVP.  The three individual varsity team awards were given for offense, defense and the team’s MVP, they went to seniors Rennie Orr, Katie Bell and Sunny Bowden, respectively.


Last week, Coach Townsend then recognized those varsity players who earned all-district accolades.  The 2016 team came away with the highest number of all-district honors ever for an HP softball team with ten.  In fact, every varsity starter was awarded; All-District Honorable Mention; Sydney Thompson (DP), Chandler Bjork (1B), Lauren Jackson (3B), 2nd Team All-District; Emily Singh (LF), 1st Team All-District; Amanda Reenan (SS), Olivia Davis (RF), Sunny Bowden (2B), Grayson Rutherford (CF), Catcher-of-the-Year, Rennie Orr, and, for the 2nd consecutive season, Pitcher-of-the-Year, Katie Bell.

All ten Lady Scot varsity starters earned All-District accolades for 2016, including four first team and two superlative awards.
All ten Lady Scot varsity starters earned All-District accolades for 2016, including four first team and two superlative awards.

The 2017 Lady Scot Captains are incoming junior Amanda Reenan and soon-to-be senior Sydney Thompson.